Two Central Heights Blue Devils received superlative awards to lead eight members of the squad who were honored recently by being named to the All-District 21-3A baseball team after leading the Blue Devils to a 24-6-2 mark and a perfect 12-0 record en route to the league championship in 2019.

Senior pitcher Rowan Arrant was named the District 21-3A Most Valuable Player, while teammate and fellow senior Dillon Burris was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year, along with Central senior Logun Hobbs.

Central senior Cade Graves was named Offensive MVP, while Diboll freshman Ty Roman was named Newcomer of the Year. Co-Pitcher of the Year honors went to Central junior Dylan Cloonan and Corrigan-Camden junior Luke King.

Central Heights head coach Travis Jackson, who is in his 15th season in leading the Blue Devils and surpassed the 300-win plateau this past season, was named the 21-3A Coach of the Year.

Jackson has also been named as one of the coaches for the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association Class 2A-4A All-Star Game, which will be played Saturday at Dell Diamond in Round Rock at 10 a.m.

Pollok Central (23-16, 9-3 dist.), which finished second in the league chase, led the league in superlative honorees from District 21-3A with three, and overall award winners with 10. Central Heights tied Hemphill (8-13, 3-9 dist.) and Woodville (9-13-1, 6-6 dist.) with eight each, Diboll (10-14, 5-7 dist.) had six honored, Corrigan (15-8, 7-5 dist) had four honored and Newton (2-14, 0-12 dist.) had two players named to the elite squads.

Central Heights and Hemphill both led the district with five first-team members. Leading the way for the Blue Devils were pitchers Cole Brady (soph.) and Ryan McClellan (junior), junior infielder Ethan Bush, senior outfielder Tyler Burris and senior catcher Wyatt Allen.

Other first-team members included: pitchers Wesley Ross (soph.) of Hemphill and Connor Risinger (fresh.) of Woodville; infielders Garrett Szemborski (senior) of Newton, Aaron Sprinkle (senior) of Central, Matthew Moody (soph.) of Corrigan, Truett McCollum (senior) of Woodville and Clay Butler (soph.) of Hemphill; outfielders Jacob Davis (senior) and Rylan Redd (senior) of Central, Marcos Broom (senior) of Woodville, Reed Quarels (soph.) of Diboll and Caden Gibbs (junior) of Hemphill; designated hitter Cory Jackson (senior) of Hemphill; catcher Zack Ivey (senior) of Corrigan; and utility players Wyatt Bell (senior) of Woodville and Logan Wilkerson (junior) of Hemphill.

Central, Diboll and Woodville each placed four players on the second-team all-district squad, followed by Hemphill with three and Central Heights, Corrigan and Newton with one each.

The lone member of the Blue Devils on the third-team was junior infielder Dayton Yates.

Other third-team members included: pitchers Jeremy Clancy (soph.) of Hemphill, Kaden Young (junior) of Woodville and Macay Maddox (junior) of Central; infielders Trey Proctor (senior) of Hemphill, Tracer Hensarlin (junior) and Reese Shaw (senior) of Woodville and Dominic Morales (soph.) of Diboll; outfielders Sheldon Ellis (junior) of Newton, Luther Cockrell (soph.) of Corrigan, Ethan Porter (soph.) of Woodville, Adam Flores (junior) of Diboll and Logan Vickers (senior) of Hemphill; designated hitters Bryce Case (junior) of Central and Hunter Smith (junior) of Diboll; catcher Aiden Dickson (junior) of Central; and utility players Giovanni Robles (junior) of Diboll and Carson Davis (junior) of Central.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.