Woden’s Reese Taylor and Shelby Brookshire led a group of nine Lady Eagles who were named to the All-District 23-2A softball selections as chosen by coaches in the league recently.

Taylor, a senior Lady Eagle pitcher/third baseman, was named the 23-2A Most Valuable Player, while Brookshire, a junior shortstop, was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year, along with West Sabine sophomore Halli Hall.

Woden and West Sabine both had nine players earn superlative, first- or second-team performers. Chireno, which advanced to the Class 1A State Semifinals but played in a Class 2A district, and Shelbyville each had five players honored, along with four from Martinsville and two from Brookeland.

The Lady Tigers had three superlative performers. In addition to Hall, sophomore Haily Primrose was named Defensive Player of the Year and senior Hannah Springs was named Utility Player of the Year.

Woden led all league teams with five first-team performers, while West Sabine had three and Martinsville and Shelbyville had two apiece.

Woden senior pitcher Amber Allen led the Lady Eagle first teamers. She was joined by infielders Abby Chapel (senior) and Chelsea Brookshire (freshman), along with outfielders Skylar Smith (junior) and Madison Christopher (senior).

Chireno sophomore Nelly Vargas was named a first-team outfielder.

Martinsville sophomore Kylee Renfro was named first-team catcher, while teammate, freshman Kayden Sears was a first-team infielder.

Other players named to the first team included infielders Harlee Franklin (senior) and Kaleigh Anderson (junior) of West Sabine and outfielder Kensi Murray (junior) of Shelbyville. Brookeland senior Alana Colter was a first-team outfielder, along with sophomore Kioujia Gates of Shelbyville and sophomore Susan Muncrief of West Sabine.

Chireno had the most second-team performers with four, followed by West Sabine and Shelbyville with three each. Woden and Martinsville both had two second-team members and Brookeland had one player honored.

Lady Owls named to the second-team all-district included senior pitcher Kayla Durrett, junior infielder Jaleigh Johnson and freshman Elaina Goodman. Junior outfielder Lexi Mooney was also named to the elite squad.

Woden junior Meagan Johnson was named second team catcher and sophomore Briley Watkins was named second team outfielder.

Martinsville sophomore Carmen Choate was a second team infielder, while sophomore Megan Choate earned second team outfielder honors.

Shelbyville senior Jordan Rose was named second team catcher.

Other second team infielders included West Sabine junior Briley Lane, Brookeland sophomore Maddy Fisher and Lady Dragon senior Paige Shedd.

Other second outfielders named were Shelbyville senior Faith Ridgeway, along with West Sabine freshman Emma Frick and sophomore Anna Metcalf.

In addition to Woden, West Sabine, Brookeland and Shelbyville advanced to the postseason in Class 2A.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.